Mantra For Transformation And Success In Life – Bhagavad Gita chapter 2.2

Do you know what is the first thing you require to transform yourself and your life? It’s becoming uncomfortable with your current state. Most people do not choose to Design an Extraordinary Lives for themselves, because they have grown comfortable, with the pain and suffering of current life.

The first words that Lord Krishna spoke in the starting of the Bhagavad Gita are:

कुतस्त्वा कश्मलमिदं विषमे समुपस्थितम् |
अनार्यजुष्टमस्वर्ग्यमकीर्तिकरमर्जुन || 2||

The second chapter of the Bhagavad Gita is Sankhya Yoga. Lord Krishna condenses the teachings of the entire Gita in this chapter. This chapter is the essence of the entire Gita. There are four main topics of Sankhya Yoga covered here –

  1. The Power of Surrender– Arjuna completely surrenders himself to Lord Krishna and accepts Lord Krishna as his Guru. He requests Krishna to guide him on how to tide over his sorrow.
  2. Ignorance of the true nature of Selfis the true cause of all pain and suffering in life
  3. The essence of Karma Yoga – the discipline of selfless action without being attached to its fruits.
  4. Description of a Perfect Man– One whose mind is steady and one-pointed.

The opening sentence of this shloka is Shree Bhagwaan Uvacha. Lord Krishna is called Bhagavan because He possesses six ‘bhagas’ or divine traits.

The meaning of the term ‘Bhagavan’ is explained by Parasara Muni, the father of Veda Vyasa, in Vishnu Purana.

ऐश्वर्यस्य समग्रस्य धर्मस्य यशसरिश्रयः।

ज्ञानवैराग्ययोश्चैव षण्णां भग इतीरणा ।।

Bhagavan is the Supreme Personality who possesses all the six Kalyana Gunas namely, all jnana; i.e knowledge, vairagya is total dispassion, Virya is the capacity to create, sustain, and resolve, yashas means absolute fame, Sri is all the wealth, and Aishvarya means overlordship.

Bhagwan Shri Krishna says My dear Arjun, kutastva— wherefrom have you: kaśhmalam-idam — got this delusion in this hour of peril? It is not befitting an honorable person. It leads not to the higher abodes, but to disgrace.

The word Ārya here does not refer to any race or ethnic group. The Manu Smṛiti defines an Aryan as a highly evolved and cultured person. “Aryan” connotes a model human being kind of a “perfect gentleman.” The sole purpose of all spirituality is to induce humans to become Aryans in all respects which means becoming their best versions. Bhagwan Shree Krishna finds Arjun’s present condition in conflict with that ideal. Arjuna, who is considered Manly, suddenly sinks into un-manliness at the moment of a crisis. Therefore, Lord Krishna reprimands him for getting diverted from his path. Hence he termed it Un-Aaryan.

The Bhagavad Gita effectively begins from here because Bhagwan Shree Krishna starts speaking from this verse.

Just look deeply at the process, how Lord Krishna is first, inducing a hunger for knowledge in Arjuna.

  1. The first thing He does is to point out to Arjuna that his State of delusion or confusion is dishonorable and inappropriate for virtuous persons. He uses the term Anarya (अनार्यजुष्टमस्वर्ग्यमकीर्तिकरमर्जुन) which is unlike an Arya which is unlike a model human being. So this makes Arjuna become aware that his mental condition is not one that an evolved human being or an Aryan must-have.
  2. Lord Krishna then goes on to remind Arjun of the consequences of delusion. He says Aswargyam अनार्यजुष्टमस्वर्ग्यमकीर्तिकरमर्जुन means which does not lead to the higher abodes – Swarga is the heavenly bode but Aswarg is opposite to Swarg i.e Hell. You all know how much pain and suffering a soul undergoes when put in hell. Lord Krishna also uses the word akīrti-karam अनार्यजुष्टमस्वर्ग्यमकीर्तिकरमर्जुन Kirti means fame and glory but Akirti means disgrace, shame. So Akirti karma is one that is disgraceful, leading to pain, leading to infamy, leading to failure in life, and leading to degradation of the soul.

Now can you see how Lord Krishna Shree Krishna is making Arjun uncomfortable about his current state? Let’s look at the kind of words Shri Krishna used. They were not words of kindness. They were not words of sympathy or support. They were tough, provocative words meant to shake Arjuna out of his deluded state of mind. Instead of comforting Arjuna, Lord Krishna is making him aware that his mental state is not appropriate by using the three words, Anarya, Aswargyam and Akirtikaram.

Do you realize what is that which propels us to find meaning in our life, what is that which motivates us to make our lives better? It is that initial feeling of discomfort, of discontentment, of knowing that our current state is not appropriate. It is this knowledge, which if properly channeled, can become a very very powerful impetus for us, to become Aryan or the Best version of ourselves. Therefore, God sometimes deliberately puts a person in turmoil, so that he or she may be forced to search for knowledge to remove the confusion. Those who keep blaming God for their turmoils in life, continue to sink deeper and deeper into more pain and suffering. It’s only those who are able to realize that their turmoil is the result of their own delusion, that their turmoil is a way shown by God to start moving towards true knowledge and their better self.

The message of Lord Krishna is Clear. That the goal of life or success cannot be attained by the weak. To be firm in body, mind and character is born out of strength. This world and the next are for the strong. Strength brings forth right conduct and straightforwardness leading to the enjoyment of this world and reaching Godhood. All divine traits have their source in strength. Strength is life; weakness is death.

पूर्णमदः पूर्णमिदं पूर्णात्पुर्णमुदच्यते

पूर्णस्य पूर्णमादाय पूर्णमेवावशिष्यते

शान्तिः शान्तिः शान्तिः

Check This Video For More Details 👇


  1. Click Here To Register For Free Workshop – Designing Your Extraordinary Life.
  2. Click Here To Join Our Spiritual Whatsapp Group.
  3. Click Here To Join our telegram group – “Extraordinary Living”.
  4. Click Here To Join our inner circle FB group – “Extraordinary Living”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *