What Is Your Dharma (स्वधर्म) In Life ? Bhagavad Gita

Do you know, that following your Swa-Dharma or your sacred duty is the most important karma to do in this life?

Each one of us who has taken birth on this Earth has a Swa-Dharma or sacred duty. And doing that sacred duty is the best Karma to do for each one of us.

Bhagwaan Shri Krishna says

स्वधर्ममपि चावेक्ष्य न विकम्पितुमर्हसि |
धर्म्याद्धि युद्धाच्छ्रेयोऽन्यत्क्षत्रियस्य न विद्यते || 31||

Lord Shri Krishna tells Arjun, that as you are a क्षत्रिय or a warrior, it is your स्वधर्म or your sacred duty to fight. Therefore, you should not विकम्पितुम or waver from fighting. Indeed, for a warrior, there is no better engagement, than fighting for धर्म्याद्धि for upholding of righteousness.

Swa-dharma is one’s duty as an individual, in accordance with the Vedas. There are two kinds of swa-dharmas or prescribed duties for the individual.

1st is Para Dharma or spiritual duties, and

2nd is Apara Dharma or material duties.

To love and serve, God and God’s creation with devotion is called para dharma. These are the duties when one sees himself as a soul, and as part of that one consciousness.

However, since we have taken up a physical body also, in this lifetime on earth, the Vedas also prescribe duties, at the bodily level. These duties are defined according to one’s āśhram (station in life), and varṇa (occupation). They are called apara dharma, or mundane duties.

By occupation, Arjun was a Kshatriya or a warrior, and so his occupational duty as a warrior was to fight for the protection of righteousness. Lord Shree Krishna is calling this as swa-dharma, or prescribed duty at the mundane level or the bodily level.

Though Lord Krishna is talking to Arjuna, but there is a message to all of us also. All of us, are spiritual warriors in this earthly life. As part of his spiritual & righteous duty, The Spiritual Warrior Should Fight The Enemy Of Ignorance and Acquire Wisdom.

There is a spiritual interpretation of the caste system. Every human being belongs to one of the four natural castes, according to his predominant quality. Who can be called as Shudra? The real Shudra is the one who is a slave of the senses. And because of his complete surrender to his senses, he becomes a materialist and an egoist who even doubts the existence of God. Vaishya is the one who is fighting ignorance and cultivating wisdom. A Kshatriya is the one who is fighting his sense attachment and negative thoughts. A Kshatriya is victorious, when he finally, establishes control over his senses and rules with the power of self-control. A Brahmin is one who is aligned with the noble qualities of Universal Love, Satya, and Ahimsa. He possesses the knowledge of Spirit through communion with God.

Through Arjuna, Lord Krishna is addressing all of us that Our duty lies in fighting the momentarily pleasurable sense attachments that arise out of our body consciousness! Do not waver! Awaken the soldiers of discrimination and meditative calmness. Assemble them on the battlefield of introspection. Defeat the invading forces of sense attachments.

Only those who are able to defeat their own inner sense attachments, only those who are able to, defeat their kleshas as Maharishi Patanjali mentioned in his Yoga Sutras,

अविद्यास्मितारागद्वेषाभिनिवेशाः क्लेशाः॥२.३॥

Only those people are able to design an extraordinary life for themselves.

पूर्णमदः पूर्णमिदं पूर्णात्पुर्णमुदच्यते

पूर्णस्य पूर्णमादाय पूर्णमेवावशिष्यते

शान्तिः शान्तिः शान्तिः

 Check Out The Video Below 👇👇

Register For FREE Masterclass On – “How to design a life of Your Dreams – Attracting Abundance in all areas of your Life

Get your FREE e-book here – “FIVE Yogic Tools to Improve Your Focus “

Join our Telegram Group – “Extraordinary Living” – for FREE

Join Our Inner Circle FB Group – “Extraordinary Living” – for FREE

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *